Having PC issues? Let us fix it for you.

Click here to learn more about this affordable and convenient premium service
or call now (877) 857-9289

Views:
This FAQ explores installation, activation and general features questions about ByePass secure password manager.  
   
What is ByePass secure password management?
ByePass is a web browser extension that securely manages all your passwords across your devices, regardless of platform.  ByePass features a remote universal logout function called Login Guardian that lets you log out of all websites from wherever you are.

ByePass also helps protect your online purchases by letting you encrypt and store credit cards that are only deployed as-needed when making online purchases, so hackers and keyloggers cannot steal them.
 
A similar local encryption feature for writing notes enables you to store sensitive info securely, such as PINs.
 

What are some of the key features within ByePass?
  • Works with Windows
  • Convenient browser extension
  • Unlimited stored passwords
  • Intelligent autofill
  • Never forget another password
  • Secure password generator
  • Single master password
  • Offline access
  • Automatic sync and backup across all your devices
  • Breach reports
  • Remote browsing history clearance
  • Login Guardian remote logoff all websites from any device
  • Secure your credit cards
  • Create secure notes such as PINs
What are the ByePass System Requirements?
ByePass is a web browser extension compatible with most operating systems running the latest version of the Google Chrome and/or Mozilla Firefox browsers (Safari and Edge coming soon).


What are “accounts” in the context of using ByePass?
Accounts refer to separate sets of login credentials for the various websites you use. They are locally encrypted and stored within ByePass, so you never have to insecurely store them in your web browser, write them down or remember them. Examples of “accounts” in the ByePass context are your usernames and passwords for logging into: Facebook, Twitter, Gmail, Instagram, online banking, news sites, etc.
 

After installing the Phoenix 360 Active Panel, how do I begin using ByePass?
Installing and using ByePass is simple:

  • From the Phoenix 360 Active Panel (aka “Phoenix 360 launcher”), click on the grayed out icon Install ByePass.
     
  • After you click Install ByePass, you will be asked to set up your ByePass account. It is best, but not necessary, to enter the email you used to purchase Phoenix 360. You will need to enter the Activation Key associated with your Phoenix 360 upgrade or purchase, however. If you upgraded to Phoenix 360 from an existing System Mechanic product, the Activation Key should be the same as the one associated with your prior System Mechanic purchase—it is now upgraded to reflect that you have access to the additional products in Phoenix 360. For new purchases (as opposed to upgrades from System Mechanic), a new Phoenix 360 Activation Key will have been sent to you in your post-order fulfillment email, to the email address you used at the time of purchase.
     
  • Click Submit.
     
  • Next, you’ll need to add the ByePass browser extension to your default web browser. This is the main ByePass interface and therefore a necessary step. ByePass currently supports Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox, with Safari and Edge to be added soon.
     
  • Click Install ByePass.
     
  • Click Add extension. After you install the ByePass browser extension, click on the extension’s icon in your browser.
     
  • Click I agree, let’s start and then Create an account. Create your Master Password and complete the setup of your ByePass account.
     
  • Again, it is best to use the email address associated with your purchase of Phoenix 360. In any case, be sure the email matches the one you just entered with your key on the Welcome to ByePass screen. Here you will also think up and enter a Master Password. This is the only password you must remember—it will be used to log into ByePass and manage all your encrypted passwords, secure notes and credit cards.
     
  • After logging into ByePass, you can begin creating and/or adding secure login credentials for your various online accounts, as well as encrypted credit cards and notes.
 

How do I set up ByePass using the Whole Home License?
A situation in which you will enter an email address different from the one you used to purchase Byepass or Phoenix 360, or upgrade to Phoenix 360, is when someone else in your household is installing ByePass on their computer under your Activation Key.

If you are sharing a Whole Home License, simply set up ByePass on each additional computer using the shared Activation Key, and enter whatever email address you’d like to for each.
 
If you have already set up ByePass on additional devices and wish to change the email address associated with each ByePass setup:
  • Go to Settings > Account > Change email.
  • Enter the email address you’d like to use, twice.
  • Enter your Master Password.
  • Click Change.

How do I create and securely store passwords?
When you first sign into ByePass, it should list for you suggested accounts that you’ll want to add. Click on an account such as Facebook, Twitter, Google or PayPal to add the account’s credentials to ByePass. For each login account, consider allowing ByePass to generate a strong password for you.
 

What are the advantages of securely storing my credit cards within ByePass?
  • The numbers are locally encrypted and only deployed as-needed to make purchases.
  • Never again will you need to insecurely type or store passwords and credit cards in your web browser.
  • This thwarts both keyloggers and hackers from stealing them.

What are Secure Notes?
Just like safely storing passwords, ByePass allows you a place to keep encrypted notes no one else can ever see.
 

Does the Login Guardian feature remotely log me out of only the sites I put in Byepass?
Yes.Keep in mind that ByePass is always automatically adding the sites you visit and sign into to its secure database. This helps ensure you do not leave yourself logged into a site you didn’t intend to when you used the Login Guardian remote logout feature.
 

What is the difference between the ByePass free and full versions?
Both the free and full (paid) versions of ByePass feature:
  • Automated password storage, generator and autofill
  • Offline access and data export
  • Auto sync
  • Browser add-on
Only the full (paid) version of ByePass offers:
  • Unlimited account storage (the free version limits the amount of stored accounts to 5)
  • Security and breach reports
  • Two-factor identification (2FA)
  • Inactivity lock
  • Secure notes
  • Credit card security
  • Login Guardian
  • Remote browser clearance and tab close
 
Does ByePass have access to my data in order to protect it?
Even ByePass has no access to your passwords since they are encrypted locally and only then stored. This allows you to call them up on-demand and never store them in your browser, where they are vulnerable to hackers.
 
Furthermore, only you know your Master Password. This is the only password you’ll have to remember, because even ByePass cannot help you retrieve it.


What is a browser extension vs a browser plug-in?
Many web browsers—including Chrome, Firefox and Opera—require the use of extensions (aka “add-ons”) for certain types of software to be compatible. Browser extensions add features to your web browser, in this case, the secure password manager ByePass.
 
Browser extensions (or add-ons) are not the same as browser plug-ins. Plug-ins allow websites to embed and render content such as Flash movies or Java applets. Generally speaking, plug-ins are far less secure than extensions because websites can load them and exploit any security holes or bugs within them. Websites are prevented from commandeering your extensions to perform actions. Simply stated, whereas extensions add browser features you can use, plug-ins add browser features websites you visit can use.


How do I close my ByePass account?
From the ByePass dashboard:
  • Click the red menu bar to show the dropdown menu.
  • Click Settings.
  • Scroll down to the last item, Close account, which appears grayed-out.
  • Click Yes.